Spread the love
Embed from Getty Images

Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar Holding the Border-Gavaskar Trophy

BCCI appointed Saurav Ganguly as the captain of the Indian cricket team on 26 February 2000. Exactly a year after this, the Australian team toured India to play 3 test matches. The Border-Gavaskar Trophy was actually born during this series. Although, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy came into existence in the year 1996. 

Australia was the world champion during that time. They were on a dream run in test cricket. Before coming to this series, they had won 15 test matches on a trot. The Indian team was without Anil Kumble, and there were many other things that the Indian team lacked. This was clear during the first test of the series. Australia thrashed India by 10 wickets in the first test of the series.

But after this test match, the Indian team crafted one of the most beautiful stories on a cricket field. Harbhajan Singh took 28 wickets during the last two test matches. India won the second test match after being asked to follow-on. 

India winning this test series had a huge psychological impact. It presented the idea of nothing is impossible. After the match fixing scandal, Indian fans had lost the trust in the team. The team established that trust again. This win also laid the foundation of Indian team’s dominance in world cricket.   

What is the Border-Gavaskar Trophy?

Embed from Getty Images

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is the name of the test series played between Australia and India. The Border-Gavaskar Trophy came into existence in 1996. Before this, Australia and India had played 50 test matches. The test series is named after Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar. Both of them were at one point in their career were the highest run-getters in test matches.

A Trip Down the Lanes of Record Book

Batting Records

Sachin Tendulkar has scored the most amount of runs in the series, followed by Ricky Ponting.

Sachin scored 3262 runs in 34 matches. While Ricky Ponting has scored 2555 runs in 29 matches. Sachin also holds the record of playing the highest number of matches, hitting most number of centuries (9) and boundaries (391 fours and 25 sixes) in the series.

Michael Clarke holds the record of the highest individual score in the series. He is the only triple-centurion. His career-best 329* came during the second test match of the 2012 series.

Steven Smith amassed a total of 769 runs during the 2014 test series. This is the record for most number of runs in the series. 

Bowling Records

Anil Kumble holds the record for taking most number of wickets in the series (111) followed by Harbhajan Singh (95) and Nathan Lyon (85).

Nathan Lyon’s 8 for 50 is the best bowling figure in an innings by any bowler. This performance came during the 2017 series played at Bengaluru. The best bowling figure in the match belongs to Harbhajan Singh. He dismissed 15 Australian batsman during the Chennai test in the 2001 series.

Anil Kumble also holds the record for most 5-wickets-in-an-innings (10). While Harbhajan Singh again holds the record for most 10-wickets-in-a-match (3).

Team Records

India has won 8 out of the 14 series that has been played till date. Australia has won 5 while the 2003-04 series ended in a draw. Interestingly, none of the teams has won 3 test series in a row.

Australia has won 18 matches and lost 20 matches. India has won 20 matches and lost 10.

India scored 705/7d during the first innings of Sydney Test in 2004. This is the highest total by a team. Australia’s score of 93 during November 2004 is the lowest score by a team in an innings.

Click Here to read ‘A Guide to Marketing for Starters’

Click Here to read a short story written by me in Hindi

Do leave a comment below. 🙂

Also, please subscribe if you want to receive updates from this blog.